DeKalb County Second-Offense DUI Lawyer
Prosecutors handle second-offense DUI charges much differently than first offense charges. Georgia has a 10-year period it takes into account for DUI history. The way that prosecutors treat these cases is far more aggressive than the way that they would handle a first-time DUI offense. Individuals facing their second DUI are also looking at more substantial penalties.
An accomplished DUI attorney knows how to apply their experience to your case to build a strong defense and potentially help you obtain the best outcome possible. Also, a DeKalb County second-offense DUI lawyer could advocate for you throughout the legal process.
Second-Time DUI Penalties
People charged with their second DUI are looking at severe penalties. The consequences of a conviction include:
- Minimum of 12 months of probation
- Minimum of 240 hours of community service
- DUI classes
- Alcohol evaluations
- Expensive fines
- Minimum of 90 days in jail
- License suspension
If it is a second DUI charge within a five-year period, then the case is going to be taken more seriously by prosecutors and the defendant can face additional driver’s license issues. Also, judges are going to be much more serious about the sentencing recommendations for subsequent DUI charges than a first offense.
Building a Defense for Second DUI Charges
A second-offense DUI lawyer in DeKalb County builds a defense for a second-time charge by taking a similar approach to a first DUI offense. However, there is a difference in the mitigation of the charge on the front end of the legal process. There is so much more at stake on a second offense due to the higher likelihood of going to jail on a second offense compared to a first offense. The likelihood of someone losing their license, doing community service, and paying fines are much higher, so lawyers take it more seriously because of what the defendant has on the line.
Driver Permits and License Suspensions
After a second-offense DUI charge in DeKalb, Georgia will still issue the individual a driving permit so long as the DUI is the first in five years. However, if they are convicted of a second offense in five years, the circumstances change. The defendant is then required to get interlock ignition installed in their car in addition to a four-month hard suspension.
With interlock ignition, the individual has to blow into the device to start their car and blow sporadically to ensure that they have not consumed any alcohol. They must keep that on their car for up to 12 months, depending on their date of conviction and arrest. They are restricted from leaving the state and cannot have any other car without interlock on it. After that period has passed, they can reinstate their driver’s license.
Contact a DeKalb County Second-Offense DUI Attorney Today
A second-offense DUI is a severe charge that can carry jail time and hefty fines. Call a DeKalb County second-offense DUI lawyer today for more information about your rights and the legal process of your case. A seasoned legal professional could be a powerful ally, schedule a free consultation today.