Utah Lowers BAC Limit to 0.05
Utah is set to become the first state in the nation to lower the legal blood alcohol content. For impaired drivers in the state, the level at which they will be charged with driving under the influence is now 0.05, lowered from the nationwide 0.08.
House Bill 155 made it through the Senate in an 18-11 vote. The bill was sponsored by Representative Norm Thursto, R-Provo, and had passed through the House prior to making its way into the Senate. The bill will next land on the desk of Governor Gary Herbert for his signature. The bill is being said to have passed because the Governor has already said he would sign it into law.
Once the law hits the books, it will make Utah the state with the lowest legal limit for impairment in the United States. While the bill was debated in the Senate, proponents advocated it as a way to reduce drunk driving. It’s opponents said that it went too far. One of the bill’s opponents, Senator Jim Debakis, D-Salt Lake City, said that it made Utah seem peculiar in a day when the state was looking to secure all the tourist dollars it could.
One of those in favor of the bill, Senate Majority Whip Stuart Adams, R-Layton, said that it would help reduce drunk drivers. He pointed to European countries and Canada who have lowered the DUI levels. Adams said that a lower limit would discourage people from getting behind the wheel if they had been drinking.
Georgia DUI Laws
Whether other states will take after Utah’s lead is not yet known. For now, Georgia has DUI laws on the books that are in line with the rest of the nation. When a person is pulled over and is found to have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher, they can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence.
Once convicted of a driving under the influence charge in Georgia, you may face up to a year in jail, a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or 40 hours or less of community service, in addition to a year-long license suspension and probation. If the driving under the influence charge is a felony, persons face up to five years in a state prison and up to a $5,000 fine.
Being convicted of a DUI in Georgia does not only have an impact on your freedom and financial health. A person with a drunk driving conviction often suffers damage to their reputation and standing within the community. It can be difficult to maintain or find employment, secure adequate housing or enroll in an institute of higher learning. A drunk driving conviction is not something to take lightly as it can have lasting consequences.
If you are arrested for driving under the influence in Atlanta, you need an experienced DUI attorney in your corner. Reach out to Hawkins Spizman Fortas for a free case evaluation and discover your options. You have rights, whether this is your first DUI charge or you have been charged multiple times. Call now to schedule your consultation.