Georgia Among Strictest States on DUI
The personal-finance site, WalletHub, conducted a study recently, comparing driving under the influence in America by looking at states side-by-side. The researchers looked at a variety of factors, including minimum jail sentences and fines to the requirement of treatment programs as part of sentencing. After tallying the numbers, WalletHub ranked the states in terms of strictness, and Georgia came in second.
It was found that the minimum jail time for a first DUI conviction in Georgia is 10 days. For a second offense, people spend a minimum of 90 days in jail on average. Once someone is charged with their fourth DUI offense, they are automatically charged with a felony. A DUI is considered in future penalties for 10 years. That means if you get a DUI this year and convicted of another in 2026, you will likely be sentenced under the guidelines of a second offense.
While Georgia ranked second overall, the state was considered 1st when it comes to minimum jail time for a first offense and third for minimum jail time for a second offense. Georgia was also ranked in the following categories:
- How long old DUI factors into penalties – 6th
- Administrative license suspension – 1st
- Minimum fine for a first offense – 12th
- Minimum fine for a second offense – 11th
- Average insurance rate increase after a DUI – 11th
Georgia was not ranked in the top 10 in many categories, but in those that matter the most to many people, fines and jail time, Georgia is considered one of the toughest.
As you can see by the research, being charged with a DUI in Atlanta should not be taken lightly. You have options available to you for your defense. Call the team at Hawkins Spizman Fortas for a free initial case evaluation and let us start working to assist you.